In North Carolina if you are charged with a DWI, and also have a occupant in the vehicle at that time that is under the age of 16, you may also receive an additional charge of DWI Child Endangerment. The penalties for this charge may vary, depending on how young the child is, what your Blood Alcohol Level(BAC) level is, and if you have ever been previously convicted of a DWI.
The minimum penalties include seven days up to a year in jail, up to $2000 in fines, and revocation of your driver’s license for at least 30 days.
The maximum penalty becomes much harsher in the event you were involved in an accident, or have a previous conviction for DWI. At this level you may be facing up to two years in jail, a fine of $4000, and having your driver’s license suspended for a lengthy period of time.
North Carolina continues to pass legislation to crack down on DWI drivers who have a child in the car at the time. This trend is not ending; the penalties are so harsh for this offense and are likely to become steeper over time.
Keep in mind that a DWI and a DWI Child Endangerment are two separate charges with separate penalties. If you are convicted of both, then you would receive punishment for both.
These convictions have long lasting results as they will haunt your record forever. They may affect not only your insurance rates, but what future employers see when they pull your criminal history record.